What ideas do I have?

Let’s go back to ideas for a bit.

What ideas do I have? Are they even good?

According to my newfound friend, Michael Masterson, getting the product ready enough to sell it is step #1 in the business process.

I’m going to go through the ideas of one of my business ideas during this post.

As someone who has lived with Celiac Disease for about fourteen years at this point, I have come up with a number of ideas that are built around making the lives of those who have a gluten intolerance or Celiac Disease a little bit easier.

I’m going to try and organize my ideas by stating the problems that I see, and then the solutions that I intend to be a potential business idea.

  •  Problem #1 - Cooking 

    1. Those of us who have gluten intolerance of any kind have to get smart pretty quickly when it comes to creating gluten free food. Especially when there are foods or products that we used to enjoy, but can no longer eat. Suddenly, we’re thrust into a world where we cook, or we buy frozen meals- and there usually isn’t a good “go-between”. These are the safest options. Microwaving a meal at home with questionable taste or health OR cooking a meal from scratch to ensure that you’re going to enjoy it. Not to mention, ingredients and groceries themselves are pretty expensive - did you know that a loaf of GF bread is about $7?

  • Problem #2 - Eating Out

    • How many times have I, before going to a restaurant with friends or family, drastically pulled up Tripadvisor or Yelp to find out if this location has a gluten free menu? It is exhausting! No offense to the individuals that have created applications to help with this problem, but there is NO good solution to find out if I’m able to eat at a restaurant. Just because a restaurant has a gluten free menu doesn’t mean that they don’t practice safe cleaning or cooking.

  • Problem #3 - Centralized Knowledge Resources

    • I touched on this a little bit in #2, but all three do tie together. There is no single resource on celiac disease or gluten free food out there. Nobody says “Hey! just use this!”. Is there an “app for that?” - no, not really. Community sourced applications tend to struggle when it comes to providing feedback, and oftentimes the sample sizes of responses are too low to feel like they’re reliable. RELIABLE. That’s the key to everything.

  • My Solution #1 - An Entertaining Resource for Gluten Free Knowledge

    1. Entertaining Education on how to cook delicious gluten free foods at home

  • My Solution #2 - A Trustworthy Gluten-Free Food Chain

    1. Develop and create a gluten-free “fast-er” food restaurant that can have precooked meals for families on the go.

  • My Solution #3 - A Reliable Solution in a Gluten Free World

    1. A single source of consistent and thorough information that can to people looking for safe places to eat.

    2. Provide knowledge on gluten free safety to restaurants and how to improve them.

So that’s the high-level takeaway from my initial thoughts. Leveraging the knowledge that I already have to create value for gluten free consumers, but also restaurants, to improve the safety and quality of a gluten free life.

That’s where I think I should start - but even still, there are a lot of ideas floating around in the solutions I’ve provided.

Next, I will need to do more assessments into what works and what doesn’t. What takes more capital to start? What doesn’t? Which is the most feasible? I’ll start to put efforts in that direction.

- Sean Z